Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee

Committee Members: L. Dizney, A. Edelman, A. Ford, V. Hayssen, A. Hope, K. Lucia, J. Reichard, T. Roberts, R. Rowe, J. Schieltz, P. Stapp (Chair), K. Thorington.

Mission:

The Committee's mission is to select students to be honored for their research in Mammalogy and to select travel grant recipients in two categories, early-career and student.

Information Items:

- (1) The Committee would like to thank Sharon Jansa for her 4 years of service. Her contributions to the process and outcome of the Committee's work will be missed. We welcomed Jennifer Schieltz, Andrew Hope, and Andrew Edelman to the Committee.
- (2) From 12 applications, the Honoraria and Travel Award Committee awarded 4 graduate honoraria, each for \$2,000: the Anna M. Jackson Award to **Janna Willoughby** (Purdue University); the Elmer C. Birney Award to **Rachel Walsh** (University of California Berkeley); the A. Brazier Howell Award to **Melissa Pardi** (University of New Mexico), and the Annie M. Alexander Award to **Miranda Crowell** (Washington State University). Willoughby and Walsh were past recipients of Grants-in-Aid.
- (3) From 4 applications the Committee awarded 2 undergraduate honoraria of \$1,000 each. Awardees were **Jonathan Keller** (University of Minnesota) and **Eric Green** (Missouri State University).
- (4) We were pleased with the number and quality of applications this year, and will continue our efforts to advertise and promote the Honoraria program widely using multiple communication platforms. With the help of the Sean Maher, the Informatics Committee Chair, we greatly improved the Committee's webpage this year, and will continue to update it to provide clear instructions to applicants and to streamline the online submission process.
- (5) A total of 121 meeting attendees chose to have their abstracts evaluated for Travel Awards. Abstracts from early-career applicants who were presenting posters rather than oral papers (3) or who were beyond the 5-year limit (1) were disqualified. We also removed applicants (6) who were receiving honoraria in 2015. Twenty applicants (19 students, 1 early-career) were not members of ASM. Student applicants were contacted by President Lacey to encourage them to become members so that they would be eligible for travel awards; all but 7 renewed memberships or became new members.

The remaining 104 abstracts were divided into 2 categories for evaluation: early-career (20 vs. 11 in 2014 and 29 in 2013) and student (84 abstracts vs. 80 in 2014 and 109 in 2013). Of these applicants, 10 were from students supported by past Grants-in-Aid, 2 had received Latin American Student Fellowships, and 2 were past ASM Fellowship winners.

The following 4 individuals (21% funding rate) each received early-career travel awards of \$500:

First	Last	Institution/Organization
Sean	Beckmann	Rockford University
Terrence	Demos	Louisiana State University
Adam	Ford	University of Guelph
Torrey	Rodgers	Utah State University

The following 11 individuals (13% funding rate) each received student travel awards of \$300:

First	Last	Institution/Organization
Samantha	DelSerra	University of Minnesota
Joseph	Eisinger	Purdue University
Emma	Elliott Smith	University of New Mexico
Aaron	Facka	North Carolina State University
Sarah	Hale	University of Arizona
Philip	Manlick	University of Wisconsin
Marylin	Novillo	University of North Carolina at Wilmington
Heather	Toman	Northern Michigan University
Marie	Westover	University of New Mexico
Macey	Wilson	Cornell University
Daniel	Zhao	Cornell University

Of these awardees, only Rodgers had previously been supported by ASM (Grant-in-Aid). We had originally budgeted for 10 awards but an error in a student's reporting of his status led to him being given an early-career travel award. President Lacey was willing to provide discretionary funding to support an 11th student award for this year.

(6) The Committee is requesting continuance of the monetary value of the honoraria and travel awards in keeping with the prestige of the honoraria and the rising costs of attending the Annual Meeting.

Action Items:

(1)	\$ 8000	4 * \$2000 for graduate honoraria (Jackson, Howell, Birney, Alexander)
	\$ 2000	2 * \$1000 for undergraduate honoraria
	\$ 2000	4 * \$500 for early-career travel grants
	\$ 3000	10 * \$300 for student travel grants
	\$15000	Total budget

Justification: All funds requested are for the awards.

Respectfully submitted,

Paul Stapp

(pstapp@fullerton.edu)